|How (and Why!) to Tell if Your Beer and Wine are Vegan|
|Written by Jill Ettinger|
As the old Spanish saying goes: Good wine ruins the purse; bad wine ruins the stomach. And for vegans, it may actually spoil a good appetite. That's because some beer, wines and other alcohols can contain the unlikeliest ingredients gross enough to make some meat-eaters cringe too: Gelatin, raw eggs, fish bladders and dried blood powder. Seriously.
Back in the day when turning water into wine was not necessarily an uncommon practice, filtration devices were rather limited. And being the resourceful species that we tend to think we are, left-over fish bladders and bone parts seemed to be reasonable options for removing chunks of grape skin or barley bits. We turn practices into "traditions" when really they may be little more than banal systems that probably grossed out our ancestors too. These "traditions" are still in use, and full-blown industries—destructive to the oceans and the environment, not to mention the innocent animals essentially turned into teabags.
If you're looking to avoid these ingredients, you won't find them listed on the label. You might not even find them on websites, but know what their fancy names actually mean:
I know. It's enough to make you need a drink! Some tips:
Buy Jill a vegan drink on Twitter @jillettinger