Vegans don’t have to miss out on the classic Easter festivities! Ditch the egg decorating but not the decorating fun with this two-ingredient Easter project. Vegan marshmallows provide the perfect canvas on which to swirl, dunk, and dye.
By using vegan marshmallows, you’re not just avoiding eggs, but also the gelatin found in conventional marshmallows. Gelatin is produced from animal collagen found in bones, hooves, snouts, and other undesirable animal parts leftover after slaughtering. Once you’ve read the full story on how gelatin is made, you’ll probably want to skip the Jell-O and all other gelatin-made products such as marshmallows.
Buying the Ingredients
Luckily, there are a couple of gelatin-free options for marshmallows. Dandies air-puffed vegan marshmallows hold up great and look gorgeous once dyed. Another option is Sweet & Sara which also makes vegan marshmallows, although they are square rather than round. Both options can be found at Whole Foods and online.
Plant-based food coloring gives these vegan marshmallows their pretty hues. By using plant-based coloring, you’re avoiding the artificial coloring and parabens in conventional food coloring. When shopping for plant-based coloring, try your local natural food store such as Whole Foods or try an online retailer.
India Tree’s natural coloring will produce vivid colors and is made from vegetables including beets and cabbage. Color Garden also makes plant-based food dyes in a wide variety of colors made from natural sources such as turmeric. Both of the aforementioned dyes will allow you to color your marshmallows to be just as festive and vibrant as traditional easter eggs.
How To Dye Vegan Marshmallows
All Images via Karissa Bowers